The XIth European Urban and Regional Planning Awards

Kirsty McDonnell

The XIth European Urban and Regional Planning Awards were presented on the 4th of July 2016 in Brussels. These were attended by IPI President Deirdre Fallon. The European Council of Spatial Planners (ECTP-CEU) has organised the awards biannually for the past 22 years. This was the third time that the Committee of Regions has hosted the awards, which were presented by President of the Commission for Territorial Cohesion Policy and EU Budget (COTER) at the Committee of Regions, Mr Raffaele Cattaneo. 

Amongst the twenty entries were three from Ireland: Dublin City Council’s North Lotts and Grand Canal Dock Strategic Development Zone; South Dublin County Council’s Spatial Energy Demand Analysis; and, Failte Ireland’s Wild Atlantic Way. 


Three projects were awarded at the ceremony. These were presented to:

Ewa Gadomska from the city of Olsztyn, Poland, for the integrated urban development plan of the city, which articulates its urban renewal, the development of public spaces and architectural heritage, the opening of the city to the river, the development of 'soft' mobility through the protection of green spaces, and restricting urban sprawl.

Jan Schollaert of the city of Brussels in Belgium for upgrading the pedestrian and cycle access in the heart of the city, commitment to change of use of Boulevard Anspach and the articulation of residential and touristic areas through social and environmental upgrading of public spaces.

Emmanuel Masselière of the Grand Roissy area in France for the implementation of a strategic plan for Greater Roissy. This included a commitment to building the identity of this large territory around its heart, the Charles de Gaulle airport. The strategic plan works within the constraints of ownership and the benefits of the airport complex in redefining the living environment of the area for residents and travellers visiting Paris.

A special mention was also awarded to Jonathan Bell from the City of Plymouth for the realisation of the Plan of Plymouth which was achieved through a process of consultation and dynamic, innovative citizen participation.

Further details are available in the awards brochure, downloadable here.

The Jury of the XIth European Urban and Regional Planning Awards consisted of:

  • Chair: Petter Wiberg, ECTP and FKP Norway, Director of Planning Services and construction of the city of Bergen, Norway.
  • Hella Dunger-Löper, Elected Plenipotentiary of the Land of Berlin for Federal and European Affairs, representing the Committee of the Regions and the Commission for Territorial Cohesion Policy, Germany.
  • Nourian Pirouz, lecturer and researcher urban design computing at TU Delft, Faculty of Architecture and the Built Environment, The Netherlands.
  • Isabel Girault, Director General of the Office of Planning of the Republic and Canton of Geneva, Switzerland. 
  • Christof Marx, Senior Project, Executive Agency for Small and Medium Enterprises - European Commission, Belgium.
  • Dominique Lancrenon, Secretary General of the ECTP-CEU, France, Technical Director Planning Antea Group.

Every year the ECTP-CEU organises a “Young Planners Workshop”. One of its central objectives is to bring young planning professionals together from different parts of Europe. The 2016 workshop was based on the theme Urban Planning, Public Space and Mobility and took place alongside the awards.  An Irish group coordinated by Rachel Ivers participated in the workshop and a blog outlining their research will be published shortly. 


Kirsty McDonnell
Office Administrator, Membership Coordinator